Monday, August 13, 2007

I could understand if she was brain dead and on a respirator. What was the COD?......"Starvation" for Terri Schindler..not on the List?

Actuary "Ezekial 25:17 - The path of the righteous man is beset on all sides by the inequites of the selfish and the tyranny of evil men. Blessed is he that shepherds the weak from the valley of darkness for he is truly his brother's keeper, and the finder of lost children. And I will strike down upon thee with great vengeance and furious anger those who attempt to poison and destroy my brothers, and you will know my name is the Lord when I lay my vengeance upon thee."

The Charters of Freedom - A New World is at Hand next

The Power of the Courts ~ Marbury v. Madison, 1803
The people made the Constitution, and the people can unmake it.
It is the creature of their will, and lives only by their will.

Chief Justice John Marshall, 1821



Although most of the Framers of the Constitution anticipated that the Federal judiciary would be the weakest branch of Government, the U.S. Supreme Court has come to wield enormous power with decisions that have reached into the lives of every citizen and resolved some of the most dramatic confrontations in U.S. history. The word of the Supreme Court is final. Overturning its decisions often requires an amendment to the Constitution or a revision of Federal law.

The power of the Supreme Court has evolved over time, through a series of milestone court cases. One of the Court's most fundamental powers is judicial review–the power to judge the constitutionality of any act or law of the executive or legislative branch. Some of the Framers expected the Supreme Court to take on the role of determining the constitutionality of Congress's laws, but the Constitution did not explicitly assign it to the Court. Marbury v. Madison, the 1803 landmark Supreme Court case, established the power of judicial review. From the modest claim of William Marbury, who sought a low-paying appointment as a District of Columbia Justice of the Peace, emerged a Supreme Court decision that established one of the cornerstones of the American constitutional system.

Order served on Secretary of State James Madison by the U.S. Supreme Court, March 22, 1802 learn more...

John Marshall, oil painting (reproduction) by Rembrandt Peale, 1826 learn more...

Sunday, August 5, 2007

Google Yourself Corpus Christi: setexasrec: If you disagree, I got 4 brand spankin new ones to put on your family vehicle; oh yeah & one spare just in

Google Yourself Corpus Christi: setexasrec: If you disagree, I got 4 brand spankin new ones to put on your family vehicle; oh yeah & one spare just in case you survive the blow out.


So WATT does this mean for Texas?

Who is the author?

After reading this article i got to believe the author is not familiar with the adversarial process or the article is pure prevarication. Who wants to buy a vehicle without laminated windows. I don't, but in Mikal's argument it was just mental re-enforcement for the jury and he is representing his client with zeal. .In layman terms Laminated glass, which is two layers of plate glass with plastic laminate in between, is used on automotive windshields. It has been used for decades to keep objects from easily getting through the windshield and entering the vehicle. The negative is it prevent easy exit should one need to break the glass in order to escape in a submerged situation or something of that nature.

%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%

KENEDENO: "I say hot damn we got ourselves a fighter, and advocate. Now there's an attribute money cant buy, a game mentality moving unencumbered through legal birds nests and over hurdles to accomplish results.

"Like a Pitbull in the Middle of a Bunch of Poodles upon Capitol Hill.

The bottom line is the tire is faulty but it is cheaper to pay the injured and dead than it is to replace all of the tires on all of the brand new vehicles. Well, at least that was the word according bean counters (Actuarial Analysts). I bet they dont work there anymore, eh? When an automaker knows there is a faulty product that will "cause a death or two" and they acquiesce, or continue to produce the vehicle with the defective product and they dont recall the defective product for WATT ever reason they need to pay.

Watt if you or your family member purchased a brand new Explorer or Expedition or
Excursion. You plan a vacation and plot out your trip planning to stop for the young ones at the rest areas and to stretch the legs and maybe even swap drivers. Everybody has their pillow and their reading material or headphones and music, for the kids you had the video screen and dvd systenm installed and you even went the extra mile and installed a Playstation III for the kids and the kids at heart.

So we are cruising and everyone is commenting on the comfort, the neat features, the enhanced entertainment, and the overall "On The Road" experience the new vehicle provides.

The last thing on their mind is breaking down, needing to check the fluids every few miles, or rolling down the window because the air conditioning dont work. The passengers and the driver feel secure and safe; maybe they dont even buckle up.

The next thing we know the vehicle has become impaired and unstable. The resulting tumbling, sliding, shattering of glass, screaming, and bending of metal that happens in less than a minute (but feels like a lifetime) comes to a rest and there is a eerie silence for a moment. Then the lucky ones can moan in their pain and the silent ones Vaya Con DIOS. How long before the Halo FLight? How long before rescue?

And you come to find out you have lost 1 or 2 or 5 of your loved ones because of something that makes no sense at all.

I am not talking about the Blowout people, I am talking about the decision made by the automaker that your loved ones were just another number, a casualty in the name of profits.

Would you want an advocate fighting for your interests like Mikal Watts fights the giant automakers?

If you disagree, I got 4 brand spankin new ones to put on your family vehicle; oh yeah and one spare just in case you survive the blow out.




@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@

Mikal Watts' arguments
http://www.setexasrecord.com/arguments/198814-mikal-watts-arguments

8/4/2007 10:58 AM

Three college girls are driving cross-country pulling a U-Haul trailer while simultaneously sharing a bag of marijuana. About 20 hours into the voyage, the driver brakes hard on a hill and loses control, sending the car off the side of the road.

They weren't wearing seat belts.

Was she high? Fatigued? Did she forget that breaking hard on a downslope while pulling a fully-stuffed U-Haul is a big no-no?

Whatever. Represented by Corpus Christi plaintiff's lawyer Mikal Watts in a suburban Houston courtroom, she demanded millions in damages over the accident-- from a tire maker.

No matter that Texas state investigators blamed the wreck on driver error and speeding, concluding the tires remained intact after the crash and worked just fine. Still, Watts argued they were wrong, that it wasn't her fault. He even demanded the judge declare a mistrial when the defense had the nerve to raise the girl's driving-while-pot smoking in court.

Is this the kind of guy-- one who would make such a specious, if self-serving, argument with a straight face-- that we want representing Texas in the U.S. Senate?

Mr. Watts, a 39-year-old mega-millionaire and judge's son who flies private, is traveling the state this summer, raising money and straining to re-define himself as a populist "everyman" in preparation for the Spring 2008 Democrat primary election.

He made his bones making arguments like the aforementioned, suing automakers and other businesses. But suffice to say, he won't be bragging on the campaign trail about the "marijuana mistrial" or his lawsuit blaming Ford for an accident in which the driver was speeding, had been drinking and wasn't wearing a seat belt.

The automaker was at fault because, according to Watts, it didn't laminate its side windows.

Watts will also remain mum about the embarrassing hiccup in that Ford case-- when it was revealed mid-trial that one of his associate lawyers was dating one of the jurors. She had even helped him "recruit" two of the plaintiffs for Watts, evidence showed.

Apparently under no ethical obligation to tell the court about this, Watts remained quiet and steadfast. It paid off-- he won a $31 million verdict.

"Mikal Watts has spent his entire career fighting on behalf of average, working Texans," promised his spokesman in a recent interview.

Don't believe it just because he says so.

Thursday, August 2, 2007

The Ring of Hell that is To prove Sexual Harrassment~TSCJ..Scott Brister's words....define "ring of Hell" required to prerequisite proof of evidence..

Actuary "Ezekial 25:17 - The path of the righteous man is beset on all sides by the inequites of the selfish and the tyranny of evil men. Blessed is he that shepherds the weak from the valley of darkness for he is truly his brother's keeper, and the finder of lost children. And I will strike down upon thee with great vengeance and furious anger those who attempt to poison and destroy my brothers, and you will know my name is the Lord when I lay my vengeance upon thee."

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


Local
Some residents agree: Coliseum should be part of a master plan

By David Kassabian (Contact)
Originally published 12:00 a.m., July 26, 2007
Updated 05:08 a.m., July 26, 2007

STORY TOOLS

* E-mail story
* Comments
* iPod friendly
* Printer friendly
* Print with Comments

related linksMore Local News

* Man wanted in fatal shooting arrested
* Mosquito sample tests positive for West Nile
* Nueces commissioners to take out $10M in debt

related linksSHARE THIS STORY
Newsvine Del.icio.us Digg Fark Yahoo! Reddit

The Memorial Coliseum must help spur growth downtown or remain an important tribute to veterans, some residents said at the fourth town hall meeting to help decide the arena's future.

One thing about the aging structure's future is clear -- it must be part of a bigger picture, said architect Jack Solka, who is revising renovation cost estimates for the city.

"Lately the feedback we've been getting, which I agree with, has been that any improvement to the coliseum has got to be part of an overall plan," Solka said. "We can't just be thinking about the building."

About 60 residents attended the meeting at the Garden Senior Center on Greely Drive. This was the fourth of five scheduled meetings. The final meeting will take place from 6 to 7:30 p.m. Aug. 1 at the Small Business Development Center, 3209 S. Staples St.

Solka opened the meeting by giving rough estimates for potential uses: more than $1 million to demolish and prepare the structure for something else, and $7 million to $11 million to refurbish the coliseum.

Councilman Mike Hummell, who is chairing a 12-member committee charged with making a final recommendation on the coliseum, said whatever idea has the most community support will ultimately be recommended by the committee.

The city-owned coliseum, which opened in 1954, was the site of community events, graduations, concerts and quinceaƱeras until American Bank Center opened in late 2004.

Residents’ input

Ideas involving saving the coliseum:

Refurbish the arena as an alternative venue to the American Bank Center.

Incorporate the structure into a public park.

House the Columbus ships inside the arena, possibly turning it into a maritime museum.

Outfit the site as an entertainment venue for teens, young adults and families.

Convert the building to a marketplace with a trolley stop and a bridge spanning the northbound lanes of Shoreline Boulevard.

Make the building a tourist information center and free trolley hub.

Refit the interior as roller rink or ice skating rink.

Ideas involving tearing down the coliseum:

Turn the site into an anchor commercial retailer, such as a Bass Pro Shop.

Raze the building if it cannot economically bolster downtown.

Ideas about the committee’s search for public feedback:

Hold a sixth public meeting on a Saturday at or around Memorial Coliseum.

Study Germany’s use of aircraft hangars after the former U.S.S.R. withdrew from East Germany.

Contact David Kassabian at 886-3778 or kassabiand@caller.com

View latest stories with comments »
Post Your Comments

Posted by veracruz on July 26, 2007 at 7:25 a.m. (Suggest removal)

Relocate the memorial plaque then

DESTROY THE COLISEUM!!!!!!!

Send it piece by piece TO THE DUMP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Posted by veracruz on July 26, 2007 at 7:30 a.m. (Suggest removal)

BTW, Bass Pro Shops probably will not go there even if the City completely rennovates the building for them and gives them free rent forever.

And if the City did that I assume they would do the same thing for Academy since that's their direct competition?

Otherwise the City would be playing favorites again, just like at Crosstown Commons.

Posted by david.b.dodson on July 26, 2007 at 8:17 a.m. (Suggest removal)

The place is not been kept and has fallen into disrepair just like the partially renovated court house! Come on corpus you have the TAX INCOME to at the verry least fix the coliseium, the court house, replace the harbour bridge, the lift bridge at navagation and for goodness sake finish rebuilding downtown (it looks horrible to our tourists). Perhaps we the people of this city need to be a little more demanding on just how our tax dollars are spent maybe someone needs to follow the money trail. Or no just skip it. But that's just my opinion have a wonderful day.

Posted by josegutz on July 26, 2007 at 8:25 a.m. (Suggest removal)

Come on people...A skating rink or museum is NOT going to re-vitalize downtown...Build a Market place like pikesplace in Seattle...(NOT A FLEAMARKET PEOPLE!) All you naysayers about it being another fleamarket have it right. It SHOULD NOT whatsoever be turned into another fleamarket....So let's git this ball rolling and make it happen...TEAR it down and build over the space. It will cost less to build a nice appealling structure than save that eyesore. 1 mill to tear it down = yes...7-11 Mill to refurbish = no
5-7 Mill a new structure = better idea...

Posted by beachwalker4 on July 26, 2007 at 8:43 a.m. (Suggest removal)

Yes!!! folks!!!! save it!!!!!!!! so we can have another eyesore like the court house just down the road!!!!!! now we will have 2 eyesores for all the hotel guests to take pictures of to show to all the folks back home!!!!!!! this will remind them how !!! to let your downtown area turn into a slum attraction!!!!!!!! yes sir folks another great step forward to attract people to the bayfront!!!!!!! when are you folks going to get your act together!!!!!!! its now 2007 & we still are thinking like 1920s!!!!!!!!!!

Posted by stff on July 26, 2007 at 8:45 a.m. (Suggest removal)

Tear it down. We do not need another old courthouse to become a taxpayer funded eyesore. Tear it down now before the Petionista and "smart growth" people petetion the state to declare it a state historic sight and then it will have to sit there for years and be remodeled to a set standard.

Tear it down! Tear it down! Tear it down!

Posted by dbeaton49 on July 26, 2007 at 8:58 a.m. (Suggest removal)

Eyesore? Yes, but.............
If you take a few moments to walk around the inner downtown area and see what a bit of visionary thinking has done with some of the older buildings there, I am sure that you might then be able to envision what could happen if a design team were given the green light to come up with some alternative ideas for the building.
If you are inclined to point fingers, point them in the direction of the previous administrations that failed to do ANYTHING AT ALL, which has resulted in the building falling to its current condition.
Just because a group of citizens is zealous about preserving a significant part of our downtown history does not make them any less concerned about revitalizing the downtown area......perhaps they just don't buy into the gentrification concept as much as some of their fellow citizens do.
Does another highrise condo that caters to a select group of investors appeal that much more than a facility that all of Corpus and our touring visitors can utilize?

Posted by stephen on July 26, 2007 at 8:59 a.m. (Suggest removal)

Tear it down. There is no use for it any more. Why try to save something that was never that great to begin with? We don't need an alternative to the American Bank Center, that's why it was built. To REPLACE the coliseum. Don't waste our money renovating that dump.

I urge everyone that is against saving it to please contact your council members, especially those on the coliseum committee. Don't let the morons that atttend these meetings call all the shots around this city. It's obvious that a majority wants to see it torn down. We need to get creative and use this prime property for something great.

Posted by luckybryan on July 26, 2007 at 9:03 a.m. (Suggest removal)

Yahootiehoo!!! The Powers-That-Be (and/or have been elected) are listening to Jack Solka. ... oy Callie ... is that a pencil sharpening that I'm hearing? NEED and GREED is how business is done in this ol' world. From those 2 vuz sooo we just need to freely provide gee-nius ideas to Mr. Humm's committee ? God's truth. Smart money will find ways to win-win and their attorneys will write up the papers. For one freaking once, I'd like to throw in (more than) my 2 cents and get rich rich rich. Actually, I'm gonna find a nickel and put my last $5 on Texas Scratch-offs. I did hear this on Jake as I was avoiding a rear-end collision on Crosstown that w-e can now scratch and help education at the very same time how cool is that

Posted by stff on July 26, 2007 at 9:20 a.m. (Suggest removal)

dbeaton49 wrote:

"Eyesore? Yes, but.............
If you take a few moments to walk around the inner downtown area and see what a bit of visionary thinking has done with some of the older buildings there, I am sure that you might then be able to envision what could happen if a design team were given the green light to come up with some alternative ideas for the building."

The only problem with this argument is those buildingsare in private hands and immune from the Petionista and "smart growth" crowd. As long as their buildingsconform to code or any special ordienences downtown might have, they can do anything they want to with them. They can have whatever developer from anywhere do their designs. Not so with the Colsieum or whatever other public properties in thiis town.

With the coliseum, you have the same crowd that huff and puffed about the Landry's development (which the lease was approved by the voters) trying to have THEIR way with the colsieum and if they don't get THEIR way , they will threaten the council with the petetion non-sense, muddy the waters and kill whatever is proposed like they did with the beach access and like what they tried to do with the Crosstowns Commons project.

Don't believe me. Check out who supported the BAC and who was against the Crosstown's TIF. Also check out who was against the first colsieum redevelopment plan and the Landry's development. It's the same old money types in this town that DO NOT WANT ANY COMPETETION or they want THEIR NAME on the project. Like with the Crosstown's project I hope the city council listens to others because their way is stagnation, not real growth and betterment for the city.

Posted by josegutz on July 26, 2007 at 9:23 a.m. (Suggest removal)

Another meeting at a seniors center...Hmmm

Hows about this idea... lets make it into a senior center...
put some rocking chairs in the front of it...

Might as well...let the state pay for it.. I am tired of all this ubiquitous NoNsense...

Posted by pujwa111 on July 26, 2007 at 9:50 a.m. (Suggest removal)

Have you not figured out that the city council and the powers that be do not want the city of Corpus to grow unless it padds their wallets and keeps the population as a whole, poor and just barley able to make a living? They DON"T CARE ABOUT YOU AS AN INDIVIDUAL OR AS A CITY unless it is in THEIR BEST FINANCIAL INTREST. Does this sound bitter?. YES. Am I ? YES ! and you should be also because all of this crap is coming out of your tax dollars and for the most part putting it in the pockets of YOUR elected officials that YOU helped put in office. This has been going on for years, as a city WHY do you allow it to keep on happening?

Posted by kspcm01 on July 26, 2007 at 10:11 a.m. (Suggest removal)

KNOCK THE BUILDING DOWN! It is nothing more than an eyesoar relic of the 1950s.

Turn it into an outdoor, open air marketplace. Such a nicely landscaped area could house a Farmer's Market, some small open air retail shops, walking/running/biking trails, a "Memorial" monument, an outdoor stage, and some information kiosks for tourists.

There are similar regions in similarly arranged towns. Seattle, San Francisco, Norfolk, Virginia and even Key West have these sort of downtown regions. If such an area is created, it could make the downtown region desirable to tourists. Who knows? Once the new "high bridge" is completed, Corpus Christi could replace Galveston as the major Cruise Ship port of Texas!

Any sort of interior, open-air market (inside the old coliseum) would probably turn into Corpus Christi Trade Center part II. Every time that I drive by that building and the old Courthouse, I am reminded how little long term "vision" the City Council has with the residents of Corpus Christi.

;)

Posted by robert.schmitt on July 26, 2007 at 10:43 a.m. (Suggest removal)

knock the walls down, but keep the roof...... open air shaded market.... i've seen hundreds of markets like that in japan.... ( a lot of the fools that do'nt know any better call them "the Ginza" however theyre really called Nakadoori's or Hondoori's depending on if theres a public street or pedestrian walkway through them.... you get the added benefit of open air shopping, as well as shade and protection from the rain....... and best of all, it would be the businesses that open there that build the inside spaces... no tax incentives, especially when its in the business'es interest to build there anyway. After all, its in a GREAT location for something like that

Posted by josegutz on July 26, 2007 at 11:12 a.m. (Suggest removal)

Yeah Here ye Rob Schmidtt!

There is a good example of this about 120 miles south in Mercedez Tx... at that new Outlet Mall...it has an open air market with tons of people going through there on a daily basis. I remember we went during the week early thinking "oh people work during the week and won't be shopping..." Wrong again...it was packed on a tuesday morning..during the winter in January...
It's really a nice mall and really good idea...Especially the Shade...

Posted by sueann427 on July 26, 2007 at 11:52 a.m. (Suggest removal)

Am I confused about what piece of property we're talking about here? I really don't see how most of the projects being lauded will fit into the location of the coliseum. We're talking a few blocks of space, not an unlimited area available for construction. An Outlet Mall? A hike and bike trail? Outdoor stage? Come on, people, what the heck are you thinking? Grandiose ideas with from idiots with no clue are just as frustrating as what the council is suggesting. Corpus Christi will never be another Seattle, San Franscisco, San Diego, Key West because the economy in South Texas cannot support that lifestyle.

Tear the darned thing down and turn the area into the same grass filled median as already exists along Shoreline Drive. Tourists don't and won't care!!!! They're not visiting for any downtown adventure, they just want to drive out to the Island for some beach time and don't realize they'd be better off staying out there too.

Posted by natasofthedeepestpitofhell on July 26, 2007 at 12:08 p.m. (Suggest removal)

I will bulldoze it and haul it away as a donation to the city and people of Corpus Christi...

Well, maybe not for free but I would love to see it gone. It's not much of a memorial...personally I wouldn't want to be memorialized by a rusting hulk of a building upon which homeliess and winos urinate.

Couldn't and shouldn't we memorialize those we honor in a more appropriate manner?

History has it's place, I agree; however, as part of the younger generation of Corpus, I suggest moving forward and placing our heros and memories in a more suitable environment.

Just because I'm Natas and I'm always the Devil's advocate, I ask you, What would happen if the Selena Memorial was allowed to fall into the state as the Memorial Coliseum?

Something would be done before it became as bad as the coliseum.

What if the other memorials within downtown were allowed to fall into this state of disrepair?

Something would be done before it became as bad as the coliseum.

Then again, perhaps not...I see the old courthouse as another example of business as usual in Corpus.

But wait, then there was the jail that needed renovation...

But wait, then there is the downtown area that needs renovation and revitalization...

But wait, perhaps these are symptoms of a pervasive disease that has infected our GREAT CITY!

I say stand up people and take your city back and make it what it can be!

Ahhhh but then again, anything new would just be covered with spray paint before the concrete dried so why try.

I suppose the correct decision would just be to do nothing and take a wait and see attitude...eventually the problem would solve itself when it falls down from neglect.

Posted by changemost256 on July 26, 2007 at 12:10 p.m. (Suggest removal)

Yeah the COLISEUM would be cool to keep if it were the 1930's but come on people, it just sits there and takes up space, can I have something exciting to go visit while in town once I take the 37 exit onto Shoreline. I dont want to have to drive to the Southside to see only a Mall, and another empty building called Sunrise something.

Speakin of which, when is that place going to make some real money? It seems to me that place is falling under. I know this is off subject here but has anybody been to Sunrise Mall lately???? I mean it just seems like its the mall for stores who have been rejected from society, it really is funny to me! Can you imagine coming to CC from California for the first time and thinking, oh hell yeah lets go check out that Sunrise Mall first, then stepping inside to find 3 shops, a movie theatre that smells like urine, and a tattoo parler, very funny!

Back to downtown, I would take walks down there just to admire the architecture it provides and to see all those empty buildings just makes me quiver, what a waste! Seriously though can any money be made in CC? Or do you just leave it to the rich and old, who decide your cities future w/out you saying anything!!!!!!!

Get it together already or stay bored!!!

Posted by luckybryan on July 26, 2007 at 12:19 p.m. (Suggest removal)

hey, boyz and girlz, let's keep the quonset hut curved roof that has zero impedance 24/7 from building shadows ... somebody (who is very lightly supervised) ought to put out the word on a global listserve (doy) ... because with any LUCK, this hot topic is being monitored by state, national, intl. movers and shakers.

Even as U read, a sharp researcher / site locator funded by an innovative solar panel developer might be within secs, of e-mailing this strand in its entirety to hooking bulls ... o sombodeh stop meh ... 2 late ...

Those CEO-types could authorize staff to contact the City of Corpus Christi's newly relected-by-a-landslide only because he was unopposed Mayor Henry Garrett (361.826.3100) ... the office of City Manager Skip Noe (KNOW-ee) at 361.826.3220 ... or Mike Hummell, the designated City Council member for public input (look it up yourself ... still waiting for my call back from Mr. Mike). Interesting action could be forthcoming in the near term; but first

Talk about "Giving Away the Farm" ( folks -- find a copy of We the People, John Kelly's latest holler into the wind turbine - every page is filled with excellent food for thot and now, ads ). My point is

WHEN the right people at City Hall/City Council get a good wiggle of interest in Memorial Coliseum from anybody-not-local, there is absolutely no telling ( ;-) what W-E will get / give to make something happen at the site, which, needless to say, is a FREAKING GOLD MINE with an unimpeded bayfront view, good parking, a beach across the street, and, within an incredibly safe-n-easy stroll, such notable tourist magnets such as Ying Yang Fandango & Tango Tea Room, U&I Restaurant, Aloe Tile Works, Wilhelmi-Holland Gallery, Econo Lodge, Holiday Inn Emerald Beach, the Art Center of Corpus Christi, Whataburger, Water Street Restaurants/Shops

omg the SKY IS THE LIMIT

Posted by natasofthedeepestpitofhell on July 26, 2007 at 12:27 p.m. (Suggest removal)

One more thing before I'm gone today, we can publish our thoughts here all day every day and it will never matter but what will matter and what will drive change, is political activity, personally, I hate all politicians and look forward to them spending all eternity with me but I digress.

Call your city council and let them know your thoughts.

Call them frequently.

Write them a letter.

Write them so much they hate to see the mailman. Nothing works like a letter and usually you will get one in return...they will know how you feel. They have to know because YOU elected them.

Now, put them to work doing what you want them to do for you, your city, and your dreams.

Do anything but do something...there is no productivity in writing here and no change will come from this forum.

I'm on vacation this week and I write you from the beautiful Northwest where I will be spending the week with King Gambrinus but I'm watching you Corpus Christi just as I always do...I'm sort of like Santa,

I know when you've been bad or good so...

"be good for goodness sake"

I'm looking for big things from you Corpus Christi...make it happen.

Posted by pujwa111 on July 26, 2007 at 12:33 p.m. (Suggest removal)

notable tourist magnets such as Ying Yang Fandango & Tango Tea Room, U&I Restaurant, Aloe Tile Works, Wilhelmi-Holland Gallery, Econo Lodge, Holiday Inn Emerald Beach, the Art Center of Corpus Christi, Whataburger, Water Street Restaurants/Shops......... Oh , you mean the Whataburger that I went to last friday night after I got off work only to find the police putting up pylons to the entrance of the parking lot as they stopped me to say there were going to be "gang" teenagers arriving soon and there would be fighting , so don't park here because they jump on your car.? The "gang" situation of this town needs to be addressed in this town also as well as the loitering on the seawall on the weekend by large groups of teenagers that but graffitti on the seawall .

Posted by josegutz on July 26, 2007 at 12:46 p.m. (Suggest removal)

@ sueann

No idiots here...

Posted by josegutz on July 26, 2007 at 12:50 p.m. (Suggest removal)

@ pujwa

Yeah I agree... the police need to run these punks off and tell them to go home, brush their teeth and go to bed!

These gang teens need a swat with an old fashion boat oar...

Posted by wpating on July 26, 2007 at 1:26 p.m. (Suggest removal)

Tear it down. It served it's use, but it's time to use that area for something else.

Posted by arthur6889 on July 26, 2007 at 2:31 p.m. (Suggest removal)

luckybryan, I was'nt going to say anything about this dead horse with the flies buzzing around, but I love the way you write.
What do you mean, U&I and Willyhims shop near by? I dont go downtown hardly since I quit being an aimless traveler. But, the last time I noticed U&I was a GOLD-MINE.

What about that messy place next door? Do you own that?
WOW!! When the SITE of the Coliseum is determined, will it be a GOLD-MINE, too?

Maybe the disappointed will invite Landry's back for a re-do. I think a steel Ferris wheel with bumper-cars and horsey's that go round and round would be a God send. Don't you?

Posted by kwarner04 on July 26, 2007 at 3:27 p.m. (Suggest removal)

To everyone here:

There is some good news at light at the end of the tunnel. I attended the meeting last night and actually addressed the 12 member panel. One of the things I said was they need to check caller.com and look at all the comments that people will leave and they said they will look at it and will also be contacting the Caller Times to get comments from previous articles too.

Secondly, if you have any sort of opinion, E-MAIL your council representative!! Even if they are not on the coliseum committee, they will pass the info along to those that are.

Get their e-mail address here:
http://www.cctexas.com/?fuseaction=main....

Also, for those of us under the age of 40, remember that any money the city spends on this will be paid by us. The money will come from bonds and sales taxes and things that will happen over the next 20-30 years. From last nights meeting, a majority of those who were in favor of saving it were over the age of 65. It seems pretty simple to me when it will cost ~$1 million for demolition or over $7 million just to bring it back into working order. That's SIX MILLION DOLLARS that could go to street repair, help restore ALL of downtown, or a number of other things!

The recommendations I have for the site (and the beach area in front of it) a similar to places like the Navy Pier in Chicago, Pier 39 in San Francisco, or the Boardwalk at Kemah. These are just places to get ideas from and adapt them to Corpus Christi.

So if you agree with what I said, or you have another idea, E-MAIL it to your city council representative!! THEY ARE LISTENING!!

Posted by luckybryan on July 26, 2007 at 3:27 p.m. (Suggest removal)

Arthur, my man, hold that thought

Natas is sure to return to the scene of the crime and read more postings (y'all, cloze ur eyez) ... Natas, U should charge for your advice; just hung up from the Mayor's Office, who had never heard of this =HOT= strand, nor the originating story posted Sunday with over 135 comments ... but ... might be reading it now and decide to fwd to others in that gorgeous, expen$ive, taxpayer paid-for bldg. with the chronic and severe water leaks that the contractor might have fixed (or not) by now

ARTHUR... you silly... DTown is more than each side of Schatzel... DTown goes from I-37 to 1st Methodist Church, from the Bluff to out on the t-heads. Tonight, as a matter of fact but now it's postponed, was ArtWalk. That cutie shop El Zocalo on Mesquite St. ( across from where Taylor Bros. once was )... Joseph had his usual red carpet all ready to pull out. You gotta see the stuff that Gilbert Cantu has created. Brite Idea: call Joseph (887.8848) just in case he has noticed the rain stopped. RU saying you haven't met Heidi at the Downtown Management District?? She's something else; pardon me, I meant to say, a hard worker. She and others have orchestrated numerous very fun ArtWalks. One time they will be at the north side of DTown; the next time, at the southside, such as at W-H's and Aloe Tile Works ... and at ESC-2, where I got a Sparky Bevalet - his fan-tailed Molly/SoAmrPeacockBass that he saw leap for glory the moment he spotted the chunk of driftwood he'd dragged to the Bluff from the C-chore. You want a(nother) tatt to go with that heart-shape Mom you mighta got on leave during the day. Excellent skin artists are studio'd all around the garden quadrangle at Ying Yang/Tango. In fact, snobbos... unlock the deadbolt on yur mindz... that entire enterprise is a sweet spot of the avant garde. Last year's Dia de los Muertos wuz , well neveryoumind what it wuz, I wasn't stared at too much and the singings and stageshos around the smokey braziers were particularly nice.

Ah, Arthur, the long story, short. Yep I do.

Posted by sirkingkoast21 on July 26, 2007 at 5:14 p.m. (Suggest removal)

"House the Columbus ships inside the arena, possibly turning it into a maritime museum"

This idea made my day!!! At first I thought that was a joke but then I relized that this was one of the options.

What is wrong with you people?

TEAR IT DOWN!!

I like the idea of making a market in the area. I would of gone great with the Landry's Project that the city pissed away.

BTW the Landry's project went to San Antonio and Say Town accepted them with open arms.

That was another multi-million dollar tourist project down the drain just like the Beach Resort.....THANKS Dr. Mike McCuchton!

Posted by luckybryan on July 26, 2007 at 6:37 p.m. (Suggest removal)

!!! ArtWalk is is is happening at El Zocalo !!!

... right this minute, vendors are outside... tons of people are inside ... a good time is being had by all ... bring your cash/check/credit cards, family, friends ... if I get there b4u, Joseph's typically fabulous buffet of beautiful snacks will be gonzo.

El Zocalo is next door to a rocking house; and around the corner from Crawdaddy's and K-Space ... see ya there!

Posted by arthur6889 on July 26, 2007 at 8:43 p.m. (Suggest removal)

luckybryan what street is it on? Is it near the old-timey Taylor Bros. building? Across the street from the old-fashion pick and hunt Patterson"s, around the corner from the Ritz, down the street from the running dog down the highway? Furman bldg, Kress, Jones?

luckybryan are you the one whose photograph came out pubically walking in the old-timey dead cash cow with mike hummel? Holding a flashlight?

I aint going luckybryan but enjoy the 'art/scene for me. I loves avant-garde.

Posted by luckybryan on July 26, 2007 at 10:48 p.m. (Suggest removal)

on Mesquite... across from Taylor Bros, yes .... actually, two doors to the left of Patterson's, waay around the corner from the Ritz but on that topic, were you there the night Les Dudek played? ... between the Caller-Times and Kress, exactly.

ArtWalk is going to be held for real on the new date published elsewhere on caller.com. Tonight, we all got quality time with cut-work T designer Lisa Ramirez; collage artist Gilbert Cantu, his dear Wife and his wonderful Mother - so supportive of their guy; Ruth Guajardo and Larry Aguilar brought handmade clocks, gemstone bracelets y mas from their El Sol Studios in San Antonio ( elsolart@satx.rr.com ). I quickly asked to see the clock Larry identified as La Selena but when he showed it to me - the magic had wisped away - he showed me the loteria La Sirena model. Noe had his gorgeous papiermache masks and there I stood, the perfect idiot, with no checks left. I'll see him tomorrow - my day off!! - con veinte buckaroos for jaguar/man- those eyes, each from its own face, leered; salacious tongue, about to lick ... mmm El Zocalo... just one shop in DTown, and there are so many! My party would have chased Katz as we drove the few blocks to Memorial Coliseum and proceeded to wink at hot boyz, applaud emerging talent, scuffle our sandals thru the million dollar sands of Magee Beach, and get stuffed over the late supper plate at U&I, if only

Posted by arthur6889 on July 27, 2007 at 10:13 a.m. (Suggest removal)

Well, luckybryan I love it. But, I would like to ask you a question about two HOT SPOTS downtown Corpitos?

Que Pasa con los, you know, El Ritz and El Lichtenstein?

A friend of mine in the 1980's made a bid to build into the Lichtenstein but lost out to San Antonio who proved to be nada.

I heard that the RITZ is on the ritz. But, bought and sold Lichtenstein, many times, no say?

Heidi? maybe. Somebody is sending me E-mails from down yonder.

Posted by josegutz on July 27, 2007 at 10:25 a.m. (Suggest removal)

Somebody needs to turn that Ritz Cracker into a Money Stacker...
Make it into a Movie Grill...like Alamo Draft House in Austin.

Posted by arthur6889 on July 27, 2007 at 2:39 p.m. (Suggest removal)

josegutz : I had a very rich friend one time who from a lark opened a dinner theater in "UPtowN" Corpitos. It was a lot of fun in the production but it never went public. Too avant-garde.

Maybe the time is right for the RITZ? Dinner/plays, some serious, some comic, maybe together or separate.

Sometimes the satisfaction is in the process.

Posted by josegutz on July 27, 2007 at 3:17 p.m. (Suggest removal)

Yeah... That sounds about right.

At the ADH in Austin they have VIDEOKE nights, where the audience can act out scenes from movies or commercials. Yeah it's a riot cause people go up there kinda tipsy and then do a pretty good job at the scene they are doing. Also they have Open Mike talent show type stuff. It's really neat. Of course, at the same time they have a full menu with good selection of beer to choose from as well. Last time I went I saw a documentary called "Electric Apricot: In Search of Festeroo" Very funny movie...it was a DocuSPOOF...r/

Posted by luckybryan on July 28, 2007 at 5:47 a.m. (Suggest removal)

< hahaharthur did you actually not get banned for posting that crack ?? > The Ritz, the Centre ... Rocky Horror Picture Show, Night of Living Dead .... Ritz Rene Proj? Downtown Management District personel have every detail ... office is next door to the You-Know-Who Building and across the street from a tavern, a dance studio, and Prego & Fab Maternity Wear.

ONWARD thru the fog... see new story ... City Council ready to hire consultant [already] identified for asset mapping on Coliseum

Posted by wildcatterk12 on July 28, 2007 at 1:22 p.m. (Suggest removal)

Turn it into a visitors center where visitors can buy souviners and look at all the things to do that Corpus has to offer......Oh wait....CC doesn thave enough to offer to fill up that building. Raze it!

Posted by wildcatterk12 on July 28, 2007 at 11:55 p.m. (Suggest removal)

CC police dept"s JET division deals with the gang problems. It is sad to see the gang problem getting worse. Unfortunately it makes that divison look like it has done nothing about the problem. As someone mentioned previously...the gang problem does need to be addressed. Just remember...along with gangs come the drugs and that is another issue that needs addressing as well.

Posted by janellesalasguerra on July 29, 2007 at 1:48 a.m. (Suggest removal)

So.. nobody cares on here to save this Memorial Coliseum,well I for one have never thought it should be knocked down but saved. After all it always reminded me of home when I saw it coming back from being in Germany with my family.I love all those buildings that remind me of what Corpus started out as.Yes maybe right now it is an eyesore but can you imagine if it was back to the way it first started out as.Yes,and maybe downtown does look the way it does, but it still is neat to see how those buildings are still here.

Posted by someone02205 on August 1, 2007 at 11:55 p.m. (Suggest removal)

I say we blow it up for Die Hard 5!
Put it out of it's misery please!!
(Requires free registration.)

Comments are the sole responsibility of the person posting them. You agree not to post comments that are off topic, contain links to sites other than Caller.com, defamatory, obscene, abusive, threatening or an invasion of privacy. Violators may be banned. Click here for our full user agreement.